Sinfonian
Reactions:
Hammock: Grand Trunk
Tarp: Grand Trunk
Suspension: Whoopie slings etc.
Insulation: Big Angus 20 degree

Dutch buckle issues

Post by Sinfonian » Mon Sep 19, 2016 12:07 pm

Must say I'm new to these but the first time I used my Dutch buckle on my Dutch tree hugger straps with my Dutch whoopie slings, I sank to the forest floor as the clips slid down the straps. There is no up and down that I can tell so I don't think I had them upside down or anything, but I did end up making them work by turning them sideways.

The other problem I had was how tough it was to tighten up the buckle. It is very easy to let out slack and hard to reduce slack. Anyone have a trick to this? Dutch doesn't seem to get into that level of detail in his videos.

Any help on these issues is much appreciated.

Thanks,
Sinfonian

Scuba
Site Admin
Reactions:
Hammock: DreamHammock
Tarp: UGQ WD or Hanger
Suspension: Varies
Insulation: UGQ40 HG20

Re: Dutch buckle issues

Post by Scuba » Mon Sep 19, 2016 1:27 pm

look at the card that comes with the buckle carefully. You run your 1 inch tree strap through the buckle 3 separate times. If the buckle is sliding down the strap, you only ran it through the buckle 2 times.

"I come in peace. I didn't bring artillery. But I'm pleading with you, with tears in my eyes: If you fuck with me, I'll kill you all." - Gen James Mattis, USMC RET.
Owner/Administrator HammockHangers.net

Sinfonian
Reactions:

Post by Sinfonian » Mon Sep 19, 2016 1:36 pm

Thanks I think. First off there was no documents with the straps and buckle.

Second I never touched them. I just awkwardly adjusted them to the right length and hooked my whoopie sling to the buckle. What you said is what Dutch said. He made it seem like I need to undo the strap from the buckle to adjust it. If thats the case, it is the direct opposite of how easy the whoopie slings are to use.