On Sewn Thru Construction of Underquilts.

sarge
Reactions:
Hammock:
Tarp:
Suspension:
Insulation:

Post by sarge » Tue Mar 07, 2017 9:48 pm

There's been some discussion on the Make Your Own Gear - Hammock Camping Facebook Page regarding Costco Down Throw Blanket underquilts. As some of you may know, I have some limited experience in that area so I offer my advice, encouragement, and opinions on the subject in an effort to help.

Whenever folks ask how to perform the "remove stitching from vertical/horizontal rows of stitching to increase loft" method, I'll express my deeply held opinion that the work involved is not worth the result due to cold air intrusion coming through the sewn seams where any insulation is compressed or non-existent. I also know that those of us who have been at this thing we call hammock camping for a while realize that this is the concensus of opinion, if not accepted wisdom, among those experienced with UQ construction. We also know that due to the limitations of quilts that use sewn through construction, and the danger to health they represent if used in winter weather, there are no professional underquilt providers who make a down underquilt that is of sewn through construction.